jump to navigation

More than Turkey and Football November 20, 2007

Posted by theregenerateme in Thoughts that sanctify.
trackback

Thanksgiving. It’s more than Pilgrims and Indians of the past. It’s more than turkey and football of the present. It’s about giving thanks. It always was about that, and always will be. But to whom do you give your thanks?

In 1621, the Plymouth colonists and the Wampanoag Indians shared an autumn feast that is acknowledged today to be one of the first Thanksgiving celebrations. Before this particular feast took place, it was already a yearly tradition to celebrate the harvest and to give thanks for a successful bounty of crops. Historians have also recorded a time in 1619 around December, that a British colony led by Captain John Woodlief, knelt in prayer and pledged “Thanksgiving” to God for their healthy arrival to Berkley Plantation, Virginia. Some mark this as the first Thanksgiving, but what’s more important; the principal for every celebration was always giving thanks. But again I ask, to whom do you give your thanks? Or maybe a better question, where do you place your thanks?

 Up until last year, Thanksgiving meant to me a fall holiday of traditions, food, and the gathering of families. Although these are certainly part of the festivities, I now know that without celebrating, honoring, and giving thanks to The One who gave all of these pleasures to us, they would be meaningless. Our amazing Creator of all things good, our perfect and heavenly Father, our awesome God, I give thanks for You. My life would be nothing without You. In fact, without You, the best heaven I could ever entertain is this earthly life. With You, however, the worst hell I will ever have to know is this earthly life. How great it is to know You, to live for You, to believe in You! Thank you for choosing me. Thank you for picking me out, and naming me as Your child. Thank you for changing my life; for transforming my heart into an image that is in likeness of You.

Your perfect and precious Living Word gives us over 42 passages for where our thanks should be placed. These are just a couple that I love;

“In everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thes 5:18)

“Sing to the LORD with thanksgiving;
         Sing praises to our God on the lyre.” (Ps 147:7)

I have SO much to be thankful for this year! I could write a book….(hmm, not a bad idea), of all the reasons I am thankful to God. My sweet and God-loving sister Dori has initiated a new tradition in our family this year, and hopefully for years to come. We are all going to write down 3 specific things we are thankful to God for on index cards, and before we eat we will go around the room and share them with each other. I love her for getting this tradition going. It allows a time during the day to purposely and intentionally, thank Him who gave us His Son, His grace, and our eternity with Him for all who believe. Yes, we have MUCH to be thankful for Lord. Happy Thanksgiving to You Lord!

Thanking Him,

Lauren

Comments»

1. Victoria - November 21, 2007

Lauren,
I love this 3 things tradition idea! Such a great way to get the children, especially, to see God’s involvement in their lives! I hope you and your growing family enjoy a spirit filled day of thanks!
Always,
Victoria


Leave a comment